Asheville First-Time DWI Defense Lawyers
If you face first-time DWI charges, you likely have questions and concerns about the process and the potential penalties you face. At Devereux & Banzhoff, PLLC, our attorneys are here to provide you with the information you need. We will take the time to answer your questions and help you understand the laws (and how they apply in your situation).
Penalties For First-Time DWI In North Carolina
If convicted of a first-time DWI offense, you face at minimum a $200 fine, 24-hour jail sentence, driver’s license suspension and community service. If there are aggravating circumstances, such as a child in the car, the potential penalties are harsher.
The North Carolina statutes, like most other jurisdictions, are voluminous. More importantly, one cannot understand the statutes without also knowing and understanding the case law decisions that interpret these statutes. Our office has extensive experience and familiarity with all issues applicable to DWIs.
Protecting Your Rights
We can assist you in determining if the laws related to the stop of your motor vehicle have been violated. The stop or seizure of a person is generally prohibited by the Fourth and 14th Amendments to the United States Constitution without either probable cause or reasonable articulable suspicion. We have the experience litigating these issues to determine if there exist facts that would support an argument that your rights were violated.
We Can Help You Fight First-Time Drunk Driving Charges
We understand the stress and anxiety that come with a DWI arrest. Our attorneys are here to guide you through the process and fight for the best possible outcome. Contact us today online or by telephone at 828-348-8583 to arrange a free initial consultation with a knowledgeable defense lawyer in Asheville, North Carolina.